Blueberry Almond Scones

I am not a fan of sweets. Offer me a donut or a slice of buttered toast – I’ll take the toast.  No joke.  I don’t know how…but one day I started experimenting with scones.  I love scones because they are delicately sweet and tasty.  My specialty is Cranberry Walnut scones.  I decided to experiment with the Almond Flour I got in the mail from Oh! Nuts.  

The texture of the almond flour is nowhere as smooth and fine as regular four.  The first batch I made was with 100% almond flour and the dough was falling apart everywhere.  The next batch was equal amount of almond flour and unbleached flour.  They turned out AMAZING.

I don’t know if you remember my taste testing video for Oh! Nuts, where I tried their dried blueberries and pecans.  Anyways, I used their blueberries in the scones and I was impressed.  Because the blueberries are moist and plump they didn’t completely dry out in the oven.  I want to try their dried cranberries next!

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cups almond flour
  • 2/3 cups unbleached flour
  • 3 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsps unsalted butter, softened 
  • 1/2 cup dried blueberries
  • 1/3 cup vegan buttermilk = 1/3 cup soy milk + 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

Directions!

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit and sprinkle some flour onto a baking sheet.  In a bowl, combine the two flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt.  If you have a pastry blender use it!!! But I don’t so I use a fork and cut the butter into the powder until everything looks relatively combined.  Add the blueberries!

In a measuring cup, mix together the vegan buttermilk and vanilla.  Add to the dry ingredients.  Mix together until dough starts to form.  You may have to use your hands to get the mixture to form a ball.

Take the dough and place it on a floured surface. Gently roll the dough out to resemble the how the dough looks in the picture.  The dough was about 1/2 inch thick.  Cut the dough into 8 even pieces and shape into circles.  Place the circles on the floured cookie sheet and bake for 12 – 14 minutes.  They should be a pale golden brown.  Cool before you serve or you’ll burn your tongue! I’ve done it several times. 🙂

2 responses to “Blueberry Almond Scones

  1. LAUREN! I got wordpress and remembered you having one. I am going to try some of your recipes…god they look amazing.

  2. Almond flour has no gluten as does regular flour. Meaning it won’t stick together. Your other option would be to use eggs, but that throws the veggie right out. If you do want to try you will have to boil it like a bagel first then bake it. Sounds gross, not sure I want to eat that.

Leave a comment