Tofu Fillets

I had a ball making these Tofu Fillets.  I started digging in the refrigerator for the makings of dinner and I came across some tofu, and the makings of a salad.  Yes, I know, I use a ton of tofu.  It’s so easy and you can make it so many ways.  It’s probably one of my favorite things to cook.  Anyways, I thought to myself, instead of making these teriyaki slices, what if I breaded them like fish?  And there was the birth of Tofu Fillets.

I used two blocks of tofu to feed five people.  The basic recipe is very easy.  You need:

  • DRY Chickenless Bouillon 
  • Extra Firm Tofu or Tofu Steak
  • Olive Oil

Chickenless Bouillon:

  • 1 1/2 C Nutritional yeast flakes
  • 3 tbsp. onion powder
  • 2 1/2 garlic powder
  • 1 tbsp salt
  • 1 tsp celery seed
  • 2 1/2 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 2 tbsp dried parsley
Put all the ingredients, except parsley in a blender and make a fine powder. Stir in parsley.  Store in an airtight container.  Use about one tablespoon per cup of water.  Makes 32 portions.-Borrowed for Dr. Shintani.  KEEP the Bouillon DRY!  Also, the original recipe is very bland to me.  I add in all sorts of dried herbs to add a punch of flavor.  You can change this recipe anyways you like.  I’m just starting you out with the basics.
Directions:
When I drain my tofu, I always rinse it and pat it dry.  Cut the tofu into thin slices and set aside.  Pour a good amount of Chickenless Bouillon onto a plate.  Because the tofu is naturally moist, you don’t need to dip the tofu in egg or oil to make the bouillon stick to the tofu in a breading.  Take the tofu slices and skoosh them into the bouillon on both sides.  Coat all slices.

Start a frying pan with some olive oil on med-high head.  Once the pan is hot, add several tofu fillets.  Fry on both sides until golden brown.  Continue until all tofu is cooked.  Yummm!

I served them hot with a tossed salad and I garnished with honey mustard onions.

Honey Mustard Sauce

  • 2 tbsps mustard (I used my favorite yellow mustard)
  • 1 tbsp honey (You could probably use Agave nectar to make this vegan)
  • a dash of balsamic vinegar
  • pinch of salt


Mix ALL ingredients together.  Pour over sauteed onions.  Spoon over salad and tofu & viola!  Dinner is served.

4 responses to “Tofu Fillets

  1. jenitreehugger

    Mmmm yummy! This looks soooo good, and healthy too. I LOVE Tofu and I especially LOVE it coated in doings and fried. YUM!

  2. Oh – just perfect timing! I have a block of tofu in the house and was wondering what to do with it. Now this looks easy and tasty and soul-warming.

    I love serendipity!

    Cheers.

  3. Hubby and I tried this tonight and it was scrumptious! Thank you! 🙂

  4. looks awesome! I love tofu and salads. both are so light and healthy.

Leave a Reply

