Kick up your Saimin!

I love saimin, I believe people on the mainland call it ramen.  Correct me if I’m wrong.  Moving on, I really love to cook simple things that are loaded with flavor and they have to be pretty healthy.  Now saimin flavor packets are loaded with MSG (monosodium glutamate).  I’m just gonna say it’s not the best you can do for your body in the long run.  This my version of healthy, flavorful saimin.

For one person you need:

  • 1 Saimin package (throw out the flavor packet they give you) 
  • 1 Rapunzel Vegan Vegetable Bouillon with Sea Salt and Herbs
  • 2 cups of water
  • Green onions
  • Cilantro
  • Largely chopped green cabbage

Photobooth makes everything backwards!  (I was too lazy to upload pictures from my Nikon.) Anyways, pictured are the saimin noodles and bouillon I use.  It’s basically mind-numbingly easy from here on out.

Boil the two cups of water on the stove with the bouillon cube.  Once the water is boiling, turn the heat down to medium, place the noodles in the water and cook for 3 minutes.  When the timer beeps, turn off the burner, pour the saimin in a large bowl and top with cabbage, green onions, cilantro.  The vegetables are optional of course, but I think they make the dish.  Sometimes I also add sesame seeds and shoyu (soy sauce).  My version of shoyu is Braggs Liquid Aminos.  I should make a video about all my favorite products.  I think from now on I’ll have Lazy-day Wednesday’s where I show you how to take a simple “fast food” and kick the health and flavor up several notches.

One response to “Kick up your Saimin!

  1. yeah, we call them ramen. Sounds really yummy to add chopped fresh veggies in there. Takes it to another level!

Leave a Reply

